Tags

, , , ,

As much as I hate to admit it, I do love a good wine tour and living an hour away from another wine region, it is too tempting to ignore more tastings when the opportunity arises. Last time I was in the Barossa Valley which was an hour north of the Adelaide. This time I am heading an hour south of the city to see what the McLaren Vale wineries have to offer for my taste buds.

This tour, also undertaken with Prime Mini-Tours (www.primeminitours.com), was a combination of locally produced food and wine. Personally I find combination tours to be be the best as they will always match the food with the relevant wines they have for tasting and this can only enhance the experience.

Blessed Cheese

The first stop was on the main road of McLaren Vale at the Blessed Cheese shop. They had a huge selection of cheese available to select from and as you will see from the following photos, the cheese on each platter was sourced from here. Can’t be sure who ‘blessed’ the cheese, but whoever it was, they did a great job.

The first stop for tasting was Maxwell's. They had a great selection of red wines as well as mead available. From the dining room there were great views overlooking the wines.

The first stop for tasting was Maxwell’s. They had a great selection of red wines as well as mead available. From the dining room there were great views overlooking the wines.

Morning appetiser is served with a lovely red taster.

Morning appetiser is served with a lovely red taster.

Overlooking the McLaren Vale wine region. Its a view you can never really tire of, no matter how many wine tours you do or where you do them.

Overlooking the McLaren Vale wine region. Its a view you can never really tire of, no matter how many wine tours you do or where you do them.

The second stop for tasting was at Wirra Wirra Winery. One of the more famous wineries in the region. It was also home to the first red wine I could truly appreciate which was the Church Block. However this was time for the morning entree.

The second stop for tasting was at Wirra Wirra Winery. One of the more famous wineries in the region. It was also home to the first red wine I could truly appreciate which was the Church Block. However this was time for the morning entree.

It's always sad leaving a good winery, however this time, I have two great bottles to take home with me, including their famously good Church Block.

It’s always sad leaving a good winery, however this time, I have two great bottles to take home with me, including their famously good Church Block.

The third stop of this tour was Hugo's Winery. I have to admit that the grenache from this winery was one of my personal favourites. There might have only been 5 wines to taste but they were all good quality.

The third stop of this tour was Hugo’s Winery. I have to admit that the grenache from this winery was one of my personal favourites. There might have only been 5 wines to taste but they were all good quality.

At this point it was time for lunch and we were truly spoilt by the selection

At this point it was time for lunch and we were truly spoilt by the selection

The fourth official stop on the tour was Rosemount Wines. As part of the stop here, we were provided with a behind the scenes tour of the winery itself. I am always taken aback by the sheer size of the wine barrels no matter how many times I see them.

The fourth official stop on the tour was Rosemount Wines. As part of the stop here, we were provided with a behind the scenes tour of the winery itself. I am always taken aback by the sheer size of the wine barrels no matter how many times I see them.

It was also desert time on the food rotation. The chocolate brownies you see on the right were downright mouth watering delicious.

It was also desert time on the food rotation. The chocolate brownies you see on the right were downright mouth watering delicious.

As our group today was quite small, we were provided the opportunity to include an optional winery on the main road of McLaren Vale or stroll around the area. I took the opportunity to enjoy some more tasting here. Other options that could have been entertained were the Olive Train or the Robert Menz Fruchoc's store.

As our group today was quite small, we were provided the opportunity to include an optional winery on the main road of McLaren Vale or stroll around the area. I took the opportunity to enjoy some more tasting here. Other options that could have been entertained were the Olive Train or the Robert Menz Fruchoc’s store.

Inside the tasting room within Hardy's Tintara. The selection was good, however being at the end of trip I probably didn't appreciate it as much as I should have. One could say I was a little 'tired and emotional' by this point.

Inside the tasting room within Hardy’s Tintara. The selection was good, however being at the end of trip I probably didn’t appreciate it as much as I should have. One could say I was a little ‘tired and emotional’ by this point.

I believe this sign sums up all that is winemaking and tasting. It was outside Wirra Wirra Winery but seemed more apt to put it at the end of the post.

I believe this sign sums up all that is winemaking and tasting. It was outside Wirra Wirra Winery but seemed more apt to put it at the end of the post.

Once again Prime Mini-Tours have conducted another wonderful wine tour and as I have mentioned on my previous post, I would highly recommend them to anyone who visits South Australia.

